Putin signs decrees on DPR, LPR, Kherson and Zaporozhye regions accession to Russia


Russian President Vladimir Putin and the LPR Head Leonid Pasechnik signed a treaty Friday on the accession of the Republic to the Russian Federation as its subject.

The event held in the  St George's Hall of the Kremlin was widely streamed in Russia and abroad.

In his speech, Putin said that the residents of Donbass, Kherson and Zaporozhye regions will always be the citizens of Russia.

He also demanded that Kiev cease fire immediately and return to the negotiations table.

Similar treaties were signed on the accession of the DPR, the Kherson and Zaporozhye regions.

The four regions earlier held referendums on joining Russia that revealed a massive public support of the move.

In the LPR, in particular, 98.42 pc of voters supported joining Russia. *t

Editors' Choice