New Russian regions included in Southern Military District responsibility zone

Military&Defence  Society 
The Lugansk and Donetsk People’s Republic and Zaporozhye and Kherson regions have been included in the responsibility zone of the Southern Military District, according to the updated map of military districts posted on the Russian Defense Ministry website.
On December 31, 2022, Russian President Vladimir Putin handed in the Colors  to 1st Donetsk and 2nd Lugansk-Severodonetsk Guard Corps which had joined the Russian armed forces.
The Ukrainian government launched the so-called anti-terrorist operation against Donbass in April 2014.  The peace talks that began soon thereafter failed to reach tangible results due to Kiev’s position to settle the conflict by force.
On February 24, 2022 the Russian president announced a special military operation to protect Donbass residents from Ukrainian aggression. Prior to that, LPR and DPR Heads Leonid Pasechnik and Denis Pushilin asked the Russian leader to provide military assistance.
The Lugansk People’s Republic, Donetsk People’s Republic and Zaporozhye and Kherson regions acceded to Russia on September 30, 2022 following the unification referenda.   *i*ie

Editors' Choice