LPR sets up 201 voting stations in Russia for voting in referendum


The Lugansk People’s Republic Central Election Commission (CEC) has set up 201 polling stations in Russia for voting in the referendum over the LPR’s joining the Russian Federation.

“To enable the participation of LPR residents who are staying in the territory of the Russian Federation, in the referendum over the Lugansk People’s Republic joining the Russian Federation as an RF constituent region, polling stations have been set up in the territory of the Russian Federation,” the LPR CEC said in a statement.

CEC chairperson Yelena Kravchenko said that the main task is to secure the right to participate in the referendum for all residents of the Republic including those who are staying outside the LPR.

“Due to the increasing number of LPR residents in Russia who wish to vote in the referendum, a decision has been made to raise the number of polling places outside the Lugansk People’s Republic to 201,” she said.

Kravchenko said that LPR residents can find out the location of their polling station at the local voting station of the Russian region where they are staying.

Earlier, the CEC chairwoman said that 181 polling stations would open for LPR residents in Russia for voting in the referendum.

On September 20, the Lugansk People’s Republic parliament passed the law on the referendum over joining the Russian Federation as a constituent RF region.  Direct vote will be held on September 23-27.

The Republic’s Public Chamber urged immediate referendum on joining Russia in an appeal to LPR Head Leonid Pasechnik on September 19.

On February 21, 2022, Russian President Vladimir Putin recognized the sovereignty of the Lugansk and Donetsk People’s Republics. He asked the Federal Assembly to support this decision and then ratify a friendship and mutual assistance treaty with the Donbass Republics. On the same day, Putin and LPR Head Leonid Pasechnik signed a friendship, cooperation and mutual assistance treaty between Russia and the Lugansk People’s Republic.

Eight years ago, on May 11, 2014, the Lugansk and Donetsk People’s Republics and several areas controlled by Kiev forces, held a referendum on LPR and DPR self-determination. LPR and DPR independence was supported by 96.2 percent and 89.7 percent of voters, respectively. The Republics proclaimed their state sovereignty on May 12, 2014.

The Ukrainian government launched the so-called anti-terrorist operation against Donbass in April 2014.  The peace talks that began soon thereafter failed to reach tangible results due to Kiev’s position to settle the conflict by force. *i*s

Editors' Choice