LPR parliament ratifies treaty on common customs space with DPR


The Lugansk People’s Republic parliament has passed the law ratifying the treaty with the Donetsk People’s Republic on establishing a common customs space and developing economic integration.

The LPR and DPR Heads, Leonid Pasechnik and Denis Pushilin, signed the treaty at a video conference on September 15, 2021.

“To ratify the Treaty of September 15, 2021 by way of exchanging letters on establishing a common customs territory and developing economic integration,” according to the document passed by the LPR parliament.

The law was adopted with the view of incorporating the norms of the treaty into the legal system of the Lugansk People’s Republic.

It regulates legal relations between the states in strengthening economic cooperation between the Lugansk and Donetsk People’s Republics, establishing a common customs territory, ensuring a free movement of people, goods, capitals and services and developing economic integration.

Earlier, LPR Head Leonid Pasechnik said that the LPR and the DPR would establish a common economic and customs space that conforms to the legislation of the Russian Federation.

The LPR and DPR authorities adopted the programs of socio-economic development of the Republics for 2022-2024. The declaration released after the inter-state meeting notes that following the discussion of the programs of socio-economic development, the respresenativies of LPR and DPR authorities plan to sign inter-state agreements to provide for establishing a common economic space for sustainable development of the economy of the Republics and improving the quality of life of the LPR and DPR population.*i*r

Editors' Choice