Kirovsk and Irkutsk Oblast sign cooperation agreement 


The Kirovsk Administration and the Government of the Irkutsk Oblast have signed a cooperation agreement.

As Lugansk Media Centre correspondent reports, the document is signed by the City Administration Head Viktoria Sergeyeva and the Governor of the Irkutsk Oblast Igor Kobzev. 

"By signing this agreement, we are shaping the future for the next five years through the Government of the Irkutsk Oblast and through the Government of the LPR. Today, we will identify priority tasks for the favourable living of residents in this territory (Kirovsk)," Kobzev said.

The Russian region is to assist Kirovsk in restoration of water supply, roads, and in demining efforts.

Russian regions provide massive support to LPR territories in restoring the region's infrastructure. 

On May 11, 2014, the Lugansk and Donetsk People’s Republics and several areas controlled by Kiev forces held a referendum on LPR and DPR self-determination. Voter turnout in the Lugansk Region made up 81 percent and in the Donetsk Region 75 percent. LPR and DPR independence was supported by 96.2 percent and 89.7 percent of voters, respectively. The Republics proclaimed their state sovereignty on May 12, 2014. 

Ukraine has been carrying out a military crackdown against Donbass since 2014. 

On February 21, 2022, Russian President Vladimir Putin recognized the sovereignty of the Lugansk and Donetsk People’s Republics. He asked the Federal Assembly to support this decision and then ratify a friendship and mutual assistance treaty with the Donbass Republics. On the same day, Putin and LPR Head Leonid Pasechnik signed a friendship, cooperation and mutual assistance treaty between Russia and the Lugansk People’s Republic. *t

Most Popular

Spelling error report
Select mistakes and press CTRL+Enter (Control+Enter on Mac) to notify editors

Editors' Choice