Russia’s Federation Council ratifies LPR accession to Russia

The Federation Council upper house of the Russian parliament has ratified the agreement on the Lugansk People’s Republic accession to the Russian Federation as a constituent entity. The decision was supported by all the 152 FC members.

On Monday, the State Duma lower house of the Russian parliament approved the agreement on the LPR’s joining Russia and approved the federal constitutional law "On Ratification of the Treaty between the Russian Federation and the Lugansk People's Republic on the Accession of the LPR to Russia and Establishment of a New Federal Subject".

Russian President Vladimir Putin and the LPR Head Leonid Pasechnik signed a treaty on September 30 on the accession of the Republic to the Russian Federation as its subject.  Pasechnik had asked Putin to consider the Republic’s accession to Russia following the results of the referendum at which more than 98 percent of LPR residents supported reunification with Russia.

On February 21, 2022, Russia recognized the sovereignty of the LPR and the DPR which was proclaimed after the referenda on May 11, 2014 amid Kiev’s military operation against Donbass. *i*t

Most Popular

Spelling error report
Select mistakes and press CTRL+Enter (Control+Enter on Mac) to notify editors

Editors' Choice