EU sanctions spur LPR development - Parliament chairman

Society  Elections 

Read in Russian

LUGANSK, December 10 (Lugansk Media Centre) - EU sanctions against Donbass representatives are stimulus for further economic development and independence, LPR Parliament chairman Denis Miroshnichenko said.

The EU Council added nine persons to the list of those subject to restrictive measures over actions "undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine". They are listed because of their involvement in the elections in the Donetsk People’s Republic and Lugansk People’s Republic. In particular, Leonid Pasechnik, People's Council chairman Denis Miroshnichenko, the Central Election Comission Head Elena Kravchenko and her deputy Maxim Svidchenko and Comission secretary Ekaterina Tereschenko were put on the list.

"Such measures are just a stimulus for more active work, strengthening statehood and economic independence," Miroshnichenko said.

He said the sanction won't affect the life in the Republic.

"The EU does not any leverages to influence the designated persons." 

The LPR held elections of the Head and Parliament on November 11. Leonid Pasechnik performed well across the Republic and won the race by a sweeping majority, gaining 68.3 percent of ballots cast. The Mir Luganschine social movement secured 37 seats in the Parliament, while its rival Lugansk Economic Union won 13 mandates. 

Spelling error report
Select mistakes and press CTRL+Enter (Control+Enter on Mac) to notify editors

Editors' Choice