Denis Miroshnichenko elected speaker of 3rd LPR parliament


LUGANSK, November 19 (Lugansk Media Centre) - Denis Miroshnichenko was elected speaker of the Lugansk People’s Republic 3rd parliament. All the 50 lawmakers  supported his candidacy.

Denis Nikolayevich Miroshnichenko was born in Lugansk on December 8, 1987. He graduated from the Matusovskiy Lugansk Academy of Culture and Arts. He occupied different positions handling youth policy and sport issues. Miroshnichenko was 1st and 2nd People’s Council deputy. On December 21, 2017, he was elected LPR parliament speaker.

The latest parliamentary election in the Republic took place on November 11, on the strength of the parliament’s September 7 resolution. On September 6, the LPR parliament approved the legislation to amend the Constitution and a number of laws. It extended the four-year term of office of the LPR head and lawmakers to five years starting from the next election. The LPR Head and lawmakers are elected by secret ballot.

Leonid Pasechnik was elected Head of the Republic gathering 68.3 percent of votes. Mir Luganschine and LES won 74.12 percent and 25.16 percent of votes, respectively. The former will have 37 seats in parliament and the latter 13 seats.

Spelling error report
Select mistakes and press CTRL+Enter (Control+Enter on Mac) to notify editors

Editors' Choice