Britain announces sanctions against four LPR top ministerial officials

Общество  Референдум 

Britain has announced sanctions against four top ministerial officials of the LPR, and publihed the updated sanctions list on its Goverenment's website.

According to the press statement of the Foreign Office, the Foreign Secretary has today (26 September) announced 92 sanctions in response to the referendums held in the four regions - the DPR and LPR, liberated Kherson region, and Zaporozhye. 

Thirty-three individuals from the regions have been sanctioned. Among them:

Ivan Kusov, the Minister of Education and Science of the Lugansk People’s Republic; 
Timur Samatov, the Minister of Industry and Trade of the LPR; 
Konstantin Zavizenov, the Minister of Fuel, Energy and Coal Industry of the LPR; 
Vasily Noskov, Deputy Minister of Culture, Sports and Youth of the LPR.

Earlier, the First Deputy Chairman of the LPR Goverenment Vladislav Kuznetsov expressed his gratitude to the Great Britain for putting him on the sanctions list. 

The LPR referendum on joining the Russian Federation as a constituent entity is taking place on September 23-27. Polling stations will be open to voters only on September 27; on other dates, voting will be arranged as special venues, including public space in residential areas. The CEC set up 461 polling places in the LPR and 201 in Russian regions.

On May 11, 2014, the Lugansk and Donetsk People’s Republics held a referendum on their self-determination as Kiev launched a military operation against Donbass. LPR and DPR independence was supported by 96.2 percent and 89.7 percent of voters, respectively. The Republics proclaimed their state sovereignty on May 12, 2014.

On February 21, 2022, Russian President Vladimir Putin recognized the sovereignty of the Lugansk and Donetsk People’s Republics. He asked the Federal Assembly to support this decision and then ratify a friendship and mutual assistance treaty with the Donbass Republics. On the same day, Putin and LPR Head Leonid Pasechnik signed a friendship, cooperation and mutual assistance treaty between Russia and the Lugansk People’s Republic. *t

Editors' Choice